Questions About Your DUI?
| Questions About Your DUI? |
Renton DUI Lawyer
Washington DUI Penalties
Stay Out of Jail | Keep Driving
Flexible Payment Plans
Low Flat Fees
WA State DUI Lawyer Jason S. Newcombe
Washington State's DUI Penalties and Mandatory Minimum Sentencing Requirements.
Washington state's drunk driving laws are tough. If you are convicted of DUI in Renton, WA, you will face certain MANDATORY minimum sentencing requirements.
At a minimum, you will be sentenced to the following for a Renton DUI conviction:
A Renton DUI conviction will also lead to significantly higher insurance problems and may be a significant impediment to future employment. This is especially true if you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) or drive as part of your employment. If you have a CDL or drive as part of your employment, it is imperative that you contact an experienced Renton DUI attorney as soon as possible.
Washington state's DUI sentencing grid has two levels of punishment. The mandatory minimum penalties are broken out into two categories based on your alleged Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) and/or whether you refused to take a blood or breath test. If your BAC was between .08 and .149, you fall into the lesser category of mandatory minimums. If your alleged BAC was .15 or higher, or if you refused to submit to a breath or blood test, you fall into the category of stiffer penalties.
The penalties you face are also directly related to whether or not this is your first offense. If this is your second or third offense within the last seven years, the mandatory minimum penalties increase dramatically. For additional information about your case and the specific mandatory minimum penalties that you are facing, please call our offices for a free consultation.
You can also review the Washington State DUI sentencing grid here.
Mandatory Jail of 24 to 48 hours (All WA State and Renton DUI Convictions have a mandatory jail sentence of at least one day.
Mandatory License Suspension (Minimum suspension is 90 days)
Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device Requirement (Commonly referred to as a "Blow and Go" device - One Year)
Mandatory Drug and Alcohol Evaluation
Mandatory Drug and Alcohol Treatment pursuant to all Evaluation Recommendations
Mandatory Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel
Mandatory Fines, Costs, Assessments, and Probation Fees (usually from $850.00 to $2,000.00
- Mandatory SR-22 Insurance to reinstate your driving privileges